Site Search


Awards provide an opportunity for our community to recognise and reward those who selflessly dedicate their time and energy for the benefit of our city.

Congratulations to our 2022 Albury Award recipients!

We're excited to introduce the winners of the following 2022 Albury Award categories, who, along with the nominees were announced at a special ceremony held on Australia Day in Noreuil Park.

  • Citizen of the Year - Al Taylor
  • Young Citizen of the Year - Tylar Shepheard
  • Volunteer of the Year - Christine Thomas
  • Community Group of the Year - Albury Wodonga Multicultural Community Events Inc

We thank everyone who has put forward a nomination, you've helped us to recognise the many individuals and community groups that go above and beyond for our community.

“The Albury Awards are a great way for us to acknowledge the wonderful contributions that people are making in our city each and every day” — AlburyCity Mayor Kylie King
Our proud recipients of the 2022 Albury Awards.

Selection Criteria

Citizen Of The Year and Young Citizen Of The Year

The winner of these prestigious awards will display a significant or outstanding contribution to the Albury community during the current year and/or over a number of years. It may be for a specific project or for ongoing service.

The nominee must have contributed in at least one of the following ways:

  • Significant contribution to the local community over and above what is normally expected from their paid employment/business.
  • Demonstrated leadership on a community issue resulting in the enhancement of community life.
  • A significant initiative which has brought about positive change and added value to community life.
  • Inspiring qualities as a role model for the community.

Community Organisation Of The Year

This is awarded to a community organisation that:

  • Has performed outstanding community service, either during the current year and/or given outstanding service over a number of years; and
  • Has been involved in work that meets a community need or priority.


Nominees for the Citizen Of The Year and Volunteer of the Year Award must be Australian citizens and aged 25 or over on January 26, 2023.

Nominees for the Young Citizen Of The Year must be Australian citizens and aged between 16 to 25 years on January 26, 2023.

A community organisation must be a not-for-profit organisation consisting of four or more members that delivers services within the Albury municipality.

Honour Roll

Our Honour Roll recognises local heroes who have received an Albury Award or who are an Australian honour recipient.

Australian Honour Recipients

Australian honours recognise and celebrate ordinary Australians who show courage, self-sacrifice, dedication, love and service to their community and humanity. Listed here are the recipients who are an Australian honour recipient. (type in postcodes 2640 and 2641)

Albury Award Recipients

We are proud to acknowledge Albury Award recipients who have been recognised and rewarded for their selfless dedication, time and energy for the benefit of our city..

NameAward Year Received
Al TaylorCitizen2023
Tylar ShepheardYoung Citizen2023
Christine ThomasCommunity Group2023
Albury Wodonga Multicultural Community Events IncVolunteer2023
Elizabeth DockseyCitizen2022
Eli DavernYoung Citizen2022
Cancer Council Transport to Treatment TeamCommunity Group2022
Philip CooperVolunteer2022
Dr Eric MoyleCitizen2021
Ellie WalshYoung Citizen2021
Lavington Fire BrigadeCommunity Group2021
Bruce and Kathy BarnesVolunteer2021
Graham WalkerCitizen2020
Joshua RickardYoung Citizen2020
The Albury Wodonga Equestrian AssociationCommunity Group2020
Buddhi MajhiVolunteer2020
Peter DrummondCitizen2019
Libbity Alexander Young Citizen 2019
The Rotary Club of Albury Community Group 2019
Rosemary Creed Volunteer 2019
Graham Smith Citizen   2018
Isabella Percy Young Citizen 2018
City2City Committee Community Group 2018
Kevin Kennedy Volunteer 2018
Carl Friedlieb Citizen  2017
Emma Aldrich Young Citizen   2017
Border Relay for Life Community Group   2017
Loretta Buchhorn Volunteer   2017
Jaara Moran Special Mayoral Award 2017
David Milne Citizen   2016
Ram Chandra Khanal Young Citizen   2016
Lions Club of Lavington Community Group   2016
Megan Pearce Volunteer   2016
Benjamin Walther Special Mayoral Award 2016
Margaret Whittaker Citizen   2015
Johanna Phommachanh Young Citizen  2015
Lions Club of Lavington Community Group   2015
Barry Young Volunteer   2015
Australian Red Cross 'Hands On' Program Special Mayoral Award 2015
Tonia Timmermans Citizen   2014
Breanne Shaw Young Citizen   2014
St John Ambulance - Family Division Community Group   2014
Alf Armstrong Volunteer   2014

James Fallon High School
Student Well-being Achievement Team

Special Mayoral Award 2014
David Ryan Citizen   2013
Nathan Mackay Young Citizen   2013
Robyn Daly Volunteer   2013
Carevan Foundation Community Group  2013
Eric Turner Citizen   2012
Rachele Armstrong Young Citizen   2012
Kevin Mack Citizen   2011
Emma Pwecy Young Citizen  2011
Dave Kefford Citizen   2010
Kate Millward Young Citizen   2010
Margaret Whittaker  Volunteer  2010 
Angela Walters Citizen   2009
Claire Pagulayan Young Citizen   2009
Allen McCowan Citizen   2008
Madeline Anstis Young Citizen  2008
Chris Chant Volunteer   2008
Steve Bowen Citizen   2007
Bianca Smith Young Citizen 2007
Frank Lange Citizen   2006
Allison Church Young Citizen   2006
Helen Cheshire Citizen   2005
Matthew Winnel Young Citizen   2005
Dawn Prentice Citizen  2004
Joanne Read Young Citizen   2004
Judith Harrison Citizen   2003
Kami Lee Williams Young Citizen   2003
Cecily Chant Citizen  2002
Melissa Haberfield  Young Citizen   2002
Annelies Willinck Citizen  2001 
Megan Purtell  Young Citizen   2001 
Thomas Jelbart Citizen  2000
Michael Winnel  Young Citizen  2000
Gabe Farrah Citizen   1999 
Simon Burgess  Young Citizen   1999
Elwyn Reid Citizen  1998
Gavin Downes Young Citizen  1998 
Eileen Purtell Citizen   1997
Nongkam  Thevansavas Young Citizen  1997
John Neale Citizen   1996 
Curt gouma  Young Citizen   1996 
Eric Turner  Citizen  1995 
Glen Strauss  Young Citizen   1995 
Doreen Widdison  Citizen  1994 
Letitia Quick  Young Citizen   1994 
Graeme Hicks  Citizen   1993 
Toryn Chapman  Young Citizen   1993 
Stephen Rhynenhardt  Citizen   1992 
Carolyn Morley  Young Citizen   1992
Gordon Miller  Citizen   1991 
Michelle Cardwell  Young Citizen   1991 
Tom Pearsall Citizen   1990 
Army Apprentice School  Young Citizen  1990 
Gordon Dowling  Citizen  1989 
Andrew Callaway  Young Citizen   1989 
Nelson Kitching  Citizen   1988 
Petra BergYoung Citizen1988
Neil Blair Citizen   1987 
Dimity Boswell  Young Citizen   1987 
Roy Maloney Citizen   1986
Caryl Hogan  Young Citizen  1986 
Arthur Allen Citizen   1985 
Richard Kochel  Young Citizen   1985
Jean Holl  Citizen   1984
Simon Buckpitt  Young Citizen   1984 
Robin Merritt Citizen   1983
Glen Trestrail Young Citizen   1983
Noela Pulver Citizen  1982 
Tanya Lester Young Citizen   1982
Elsie Dale  Citizen  1981 
Tony Wilkinson  Young Citizen   1981

Honour and recognition

In addition to the Albury Awards program, we often receive requests to honour and acknowledge special individuals, groups or organisations who have achieved excellence in the community.  This may include the naming of a public space or facility, the planting of a tree or the placement of an object.

The Honour, Recognition & Awards Policy and Procedure details the criteria and the steps involved when nominating a person or group for this kind of acknowledgement.